Jean-Luc Godard’s : Histoire(S) Du Cinema (2-Disc Set)

  • Director(s):Jean-Luc Godard
  • Actors:.
  • Rated:NR (Not Rated)
  • Languages:French
  • Subtitles:English
  • Regional Code:Region 1
  • Screen:Color
  • Length:266 minutes
  • SKU:OF302
Reg: $49.95 YOUR PRICE: $37.99

Availability: Usually ships in 2 business days.

Jean-Luc Godard transformed the face of cinema with his prolific, influential and revolutionary body of work which includes such classics as “Breathless”, “Weekend” and “Contempt” just to name a few. His video series HISTOIRE(S) DU CINEMA, consisting of eight episodes made over a period of ten years is an extraordinary look at the medium through the eyes of this unique filmmaker. Hugely ambitious in scope, the series covers a wide range of topics from the birth of cinema to Italian neo-realism to Hollywood and beyond. A dazzling montage of sight and sound, HISTOIRE(S) DU CINEMA features a diverse array of film extracts, the voices of - among others - Juliette Binoche and Alfred Hitchcock, and an eclectic music soundtrack ranging from Beethoven to Leonard Cohen.

Disc 1: Part 1 (Chapter 1A) - Toutes les histoires//All the (Hi)stories (1988)
Part 2 (Chapter 1B) - Une histoire seule//A Single (Hi)story (1989)
Part 3 (Chapter 2A) - Seul le cinéma//Only Cinema (1997)
Part 4 (Chapter 2B) - Fatale beauté//Deadly Beauty (1997)

Disc 2: Part 5 (Chapter 3A) - La monnaie de l’absolu//The Coin of the Absolute (1998)
Part 6 (Chapter 3B) - Une vague nouvelle//A New Wave (1998)
Part 7 (Chapter 4A) - Le contrôle de l’univers//The Control of the Universe (1998)
Part 8 (Chapter 4B) - Les signes parmi nous//The Signs Among Us (1998)